Simple Beginnings

Kinghaven Farms Limited was originally founded in 1967 as a thoroughbred breeding and racing farm by Donald G. "Bud" Willmot. Kinghaven became a father/son operation in 1974 when Bud's son and former President David S. Willmot began managing the farm's racing and breeding programs.

As one of the most decorated racing stables in Canadian history, Kinghaven won Canada's most prestigious horse race, the Queen's Plate, on five occasions.

Since inception, Kinghaven Farms has bred or raced more than 150 stakes race winners, including back-to-back Canadian Triple Crown champions With Approval and Izvestia in 1989 and 1990.

Bud Willmot was inducted into the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame in 1991. David Willmot was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2005.

Queen's Plate - Kinghaven Farms



A Family Legacy

Following Bud's death in 1994, David assumed sole ownership. Kinghaven continued to produce champions and stakes winners until 2011 but during this time the farm's operations were scaled back significantly due to David's management responsibilities at Ontario Jockey Club / Woodbine Entertainment Group.

To this day, Kinghaven Farms remains a family run business. With David's son Jay, serving as Kinghaven Farms’ current President, and wife Susan and son Greg, serving as Vice Presidents, the farm has begun expanding its business into multiple areas including renewable energy and apiculture.

Kinghaven maintains its roots in the equine industry through standardbred breeding and ownership, where it has owned, in partnership, champions Southwind Allaire, Cabrini Hanover and Solar Sister.



Notable Horses Owned or Bred By Kinghaven Farms

Steady Growth - 1979 Queen's Plate winner

Deputy Minister - 1981 Canadian Horse of the Year, champion 2-year-old in both Canada and the United States

Summer Mood - Champion sprinter of 1985

Carotene - Winner of six Sovereign Awards from 1986 to 1988

Market Control - 1987 Queen's Plate winner

Play the King - 1988 Canadian Horse of the Year

With Approval - 1989 Canadian Horse of the Year and Triple Crown winner

Izvestia - 1990 Canadian Horse of the Year and Triple Crown winner

Alydeed - 1992 Queen's Plate winner, second in the Preadness Stakes

Alywow - 1994 Canadian Horse of the Year